How to apply to gate

Discussion in 'Electronics Forum' started by Guest, Mar 30, 2007.

  1. Guest

    Guest Guest

    How to Apply


    There are two different ways by which candidates can apply for GATE 2007, namely Online Registration and Offline Registration. Detailed information about each of these processes is given below.

    1.Online Registration

    2.Offline Registration

    All The Details Of Online Registration

    Application fee: Rs. 900 for general category and Rs. 400 for SC/ST category.

    The application fee is not refundable.

    1. How to Pay?

    In order to fill in the online application, payment has to made apriori. The payments can be made using SBI ATM or Demand Drafts. The detailed procedure of making payments using SBI ATM is explained below:

    Steps to be followed for ATM transaction

    Step01: Enter your ATM card

    Step02: Press option

    Step03: Enter

    Step04: Press

    Step05: Enter 1 and then press

    Step06: Press

    Step07: Press

    Step08: Enter 1 for GEN [2 for SC/ST] and then press

    Step09: Press

    Step10: Press [if your account is SB] or [if it is Current]

    Step11: Collect the original slip

    is to mean that you have to press x on the screen of ATM monitor.

    Instructions: Do not forget to send the Original Transaction Slip, SC/ST or Disability Certificate (if applicable) alongwith the application form (duly filled and signed) that is generated while filling-in the Online Application to the Organizing Chairman, GATE-2007, IIT Kanpur, Kanpur-208016. Remember that in the Application Form you have to paste the recent Passport size Photograph (unsigned) with light background.

    Payments can also be made through the Demand drafts (Rs. 900 for general category and Rs. 400 for SC/ST category). The Drafts should be made in favour of Chairman GATE, IIT Kanpur on any nationalized bank payable at Kanpur. In the event of paying via Demand drafts, please send the original Demand Draft (instead of the ATM Transaction Slip) together with the application form directly to Chairman GATE, IIT Kanpur, Kanpur-208016. Other enclosures are same as mentioned earlier.

    Offline Registration

    Application fee: Rs. 1000 for general category and Rs. 500 for SC/ST category. The application fee is not refundable.

    Information Brochures and Application Forms are obtainable on payment of cash from the designated Bank Branches corresponding to each zone. The bank pay-in-slip in original must be attached to the candidate's application during submission. Candidates can also obtain Information Brochures and Application Forms by Post from/or personally at the GATE offices. For this purpose a Demand Draft is to be sent for the amount as above to the Chairman, GATE of the corresponding zonal GATE office, along with a request letter and two self-addressed slips.

    Filled in Application Form along with the bank pay-in-slip / receipt of payment from GATE office must be sent to the respective zonal GATE office depending on the examination city where the candidate wishes to appear.

    Examination Cities

    Address to which completed application form is to be sent

    Draft in favour of

    Zone 1

    Ananthapur, Bangalore, Davangere, Hassan, Hyderabad, Kurnool, Mahabubnagar, Mysore and Surathkal

    Chairman, GATE
    Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
    Bangalore 560 012

    IISC Bangalore

    Zone 2

    Akola, Amravati, Aurangabad, Gulbarga, Hubli, Jalgaon, Kolhapur, Mumbai, Nagpur, Nanded, Nasik, Navi Mumbai, Pune, Sangli, Shegaon, Solapur, Thane and Goa

    Chairman, GATE
    Indian Institute of Technology Bombay Powai, Mumbai 400 076

    IIT Bombay

    Zone 3

    Ahmedabad, Ajmer, Amritsar, Bathinda, Chandigarh, Faridabad, Gurgaon, Jaipur, Jalandhar, Jammu, Jodhpur, Ludhiana, New Delhi, Patiala, Pilani, Surat, Udaipur and Vadodara

    Chairman, GATE
    Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
    Hauz Khas, New Delhi 110 016

    Chairman GATE

    IIT Delhi

    Zone 4

    Agartala, Asansol, Bhagalpur , Dhanbad, Durgapur , Gangtok, Guwahati, Imphal, Itanagar, Jorhat, Kalyani, Patna , Silchar and Siliguri

    Chairman, GATE
    Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati
    North Guwahati
    Guwahati 781 039

    Chairman GATE

    IIT Guwahati

    Zone 5

    Allahabad, Bhopal, Gorakhpur, Indore, Jabalpur, Jhansi, Kanpur, Lucknow, Saugar (Sagar MP), Sultanpur, Ujjain and Varanasi

    Chairman, GATE
    Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur Kanpur 208 016

    Chairman GATE

    IIT Kanpur

    Zone 6

    Balasore, Berhampur (Orissa), Bhimavaram, Bhubaneswar, Bilaspur, Cuttack, Eluru, Jamshedpur, Kakinada (AP), Kharagpur, Kolkata, Kothagudem, Machilipatnam, Raipur, Rajahmundry, Ranchi, Rourkela, Sambalpur, Tadepalligudem, Vijayawada and Visakhapatnam

    Chairman, GATE
    Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur Kharagpur 721 302

    Chairman GATE

    IIT Kharagpur

    Zone 7

    Bapatla, Chennai, Chidambaram, Coimbatore, Cuddapah, Dindigul, Ernakulam, Guntur, Kannur, Kollam, Kottayam, Kozhikode, Madurai, Manchiryal, Nagercoil, Nellore, Ongole, Palakkad, Pondicherry, Salem, Tenali, Thanjavur, Thiruvananthapuram, Thrissur, Tiruchirapalli, Tirunelveli, Tirupati and Warangal

    Chairman, GATE
    Indian Institute of Technology Madras
    Chennai 600 036

    Chairman GATE

    IIT Madras

    Zone 8

    Agra, Aligarh, Bareilly, Bijnor, Dehradun, Ghaziabad, Gwalior, Hamirpur (HP), Haridwar, Hissar, Kota, Kurukshetra, Mathura, Meerut, Noida, Pantnagar, Rohtak, Roorkee, Shimla and Yamunanagar

    Chairman, GATE
    Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee Roorkee 247 667

    Chairman GATE

    IIT Roorkee

Share This Page